TTV: Through the Viewfinder.. when analogue meets digital.

TTV: Through The Viewfinder is the technique used to marry a DSLR to a vintage camera to digitally capture the image appearing on the vintage cameras viewfinder. The type of vintage camera needed is a 1950s with a larger viewfinder to see the image on. The most popular brands and models from this era are: Ansco Rediflex, Kodak Box Brownie, Kodak Duaflex. These cameras are readily available through second hand retailers, vintage stores and online through eBay or Gumtree.

When my Ansco Rediflex viewfinder arrived in the mail,I opened it and immediately I started on my dark box contraption which is used to marry the viewfinder to my DSLR (thus cutting out the excess light between the two cameras and the final image).

There’s many different designs I have seen and heard about for this contraption, but I simply used the box the camera arrived in. Measured and cut it to size, Joined with thick duct tape, reinforced on both inside and outside. I used my DSLR lens cap to size the hole at the top of the box (for dslr to sit in), and then measured the rectangle needed for the viewfinder lens to show through. I added a flap at the bottom that I would be able to open and close, to give a bit of extra support to the base of the contraption, and allow me to walk around with it.

Then I covered the entire outside with black contact paper. Mainly to look a less like an old box held together with duct tape, but also to cut out light coming through the corners 🙂

And this is what it all looked like in the end:

Ansco Rediflex camera that I purchased on eBay

Ansco Rediflex camera that I purchased on eBay

The viewfinder of the Ansco Rediflex which the DLSR will connect with.

The viewfinder of the Ansco Rediflex which the DLSR will connect with.

The black contraption box that was made out of the box my Ansco arrived in.

The black contraption box that was made out of the box my Ansco arrived in.

The underside of the black contraption box with a openable flap to insert the viewfinder camera. The flap can be closed and held in place by hand to keep camera in place.

The underside of the black contraption box with a openable flap to insert the viewfinder camera. The flap can be closed and held in place by hand to keep camera in place.

The top of the black contraption box which the DLSR lens will sit in and look down over the viewfinder of the Ansco.

The top of the black contraption box which the DLSR lens will sit in and look down over the viewfinder of the Ansco.

How the viewfinder camera will sit in the contraption box, with lenses looking out through hole cut in the box.

How the viewfinder camera will sit in the contraption box, with lenses looking out through hole cut in the box.

How the DSLR will sit at the top of the contraption box, looking down onto the viewfinder screen inside.

How the DSLR will sit at the top of the contraption box, looking down onto the viewfinder screen inside.

 

This was my first creation, completed last night. Lots of confusion with movement and alignment, a sore neck and arm, and a lot of swearing later, I finally worked out what I was doing haha..

Crepuscule - Andrew Paranavitana

Crepuscule – Andrew Paranavitana

Give it a go. The results are so satisfying when it all comes together! 🙂

Check out all my TTV images here: https://andrewparmi.wordpress.com/image-galleries/ttv-through-the-viewfinder/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

